Observing the Generations

 

Just a short post about something that came to mind today. Whilst currently visiting my parents in Fiji I’ve been taking a ton of photos and obviously sharing everything across all my social pipes. Initially I came over for about 10 days to see mum and dad and then Nanna joined us for the last 10 or so days. It’s come to my attention that we all do things very differently.

I, like I said before, have been posting on my social pipes, Instagram, Snapchat, Facebook, YouTube, etc. I’ve been loving it, my friends have been loving it (I think), and we’ve all been keeping in touch.

Dad has written a few lengthy emails to all the people in contact with my parents. They’re almost like blog updates that he has sent out intermittently since they moved here in January.

Nanna however has been writing in her journal, and has sent a few post cards back to friends home in Canberra.

I’ve been reflecting on how differently we all share our experiences and keep our memories alive. Whilst I’ve been writing as well, I also share my experiences instantly with friends and family. Mum has been using Facebook a little bit but most of my parents friends have heard about their travels through dad’s emails.

Seeing the different ways generations connect with loved ones is something interesting and I’ve just been observing so I thought I’d write about it.

Snapchat – @jaxperrin

Instagram – @jaxperrin @wanderdayphotos

YouTube – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTlRYQg42gGd7EbrexzIKww

Twitter – @jaxperrin

Leave a Reply

